Japan

Japan eSIM guide: what to check before you buy

· ~10 min read · Last verified: October 2026 · All prices checked on providers' own pages listed below

Japan is the most-searched eSIM destination, which means it also has the most junk comparison content. This guide applies our seven buying criteria to Japan specifically, with every price and policy checked on the provider's own pages in October 2026. Two things make Japan unusual: a deep bench of genuinely local options (KDDI/au and Docomo-network plans, plus voice-capable eSIMs), and some of the most explicit fair-use throttling you'll find anywhere — which we quote verbatim.

The fast answer

For a typical 7–14 day tourist trip: a 10–20 GB fixed plan (~US$16–25 for 30 days across major providers, Oct 2026) covers maps, translation, and streaming comfortably, and starts only when you connect in Japan. Take an "unlimited" day pass only if you accept Airalo's disclosed policy: full speed (up to 20 Mbps) for the first 3 GB each day, then 1 Mbps until the next day. Need a Japanese phone number or lots of calls? That's a different product — Sim Local's carrier plans or Mobal's voice eSIMs, not a data-only travel eSIM.

What "unlimited" means in Japan, in the providers' words

This single section is worth more than any "Top 10" list:

Translation: for a phone used directly, "unlimited" is real but throttled after the daily allowance. The moment you tether a laptop, the caps tighten dramatically.

Verified Japan plans, October 2026

Prices below were read directly from each provider's store page in October 2026 and will drift — treat them as ranges and confirm live prices at the linked page.

ProviderEntry (small trips)Mid (10–20 GB)Unlimited / day passNetwork (if disclosed)
Airalo from $4 (1 GB/3 days); $10 (5 GB/7d) $17–18 (10 GB/7–30d); $24–25 (20 GB/15–30d) $11.50/3d → $69/30d (3 GB/day full speed, then 1 Mbps) Not disclosed on page
Saily $3.99 (1 GB/7d); $7.99 (3 GB/30d) $17.99 (10 GB/30d); $24.99 (20 GB/30d) Unlimited tiers offered (see site) Not disclosed on page
Ubigi (Transatel/NTT) $3 (1 GB/3d); $10 (5 GB/15d) $14–16 (10 GB); $32 (25 GB); $55 (50 GB) $25/8d; $39/15d; $65/30d Ubigi is a Transatel | NTT brand
Holafly Day passes only — $11.90/3d → $73.90/30d (hotspot share 1 GB/day) Local provider (unbranded on page)
Sim Local $4 (1 GB/3d); $7.50 (3 GB/7d) $11–16.25 (5–10 GB/30d); $25.50 (20 GB/30d) KDDI (au) unlimited: $13/4d → $77.50/31d KDDI (au) 4G/5G; Sim Local plans on KDDI (au) + SoftBank
Nomad Sells Japan plans from ~US$0.70/GB per its home-page listing; see site for current baskets Not disclosed on page
Mobal Tourist eSIMs: Voice+Data, Data-Only, and Voice-Only lines (pricing varies; see site) Docomo network (99%+ population coverage per Mobal)

Notice how little separates the big providers at 10 GB — and how much the edges differ (Ubigi's $3 1 GB pack; Sim Local's 31-day KDDI unlimited). That's the honest shape of this market.

The local-options question: does "Japan-local" matter?

Sometimes. Sim Local markets itself as "the only provider in Europe offering local Japan eSIM plans from KDDI (au)" (source), and its au plans carry 4G/5G speed labels. Mobal — a long-standing Japan specialist — runs on Docomo and says its SIM/eSIM services cover over 99% of Japan's population, citing Opensignal (source). What locals buy also matters for longer stays: Mobal's monthly voice+data eSIMs include a real Japanese phone number with no-contract cancellation, which no global day-pass product offers. For a 7-day tourist trip, though, a global provider's fixed pack is usually indistinguishable in practice — buy on price, refund terms, and the fair-use rules.

If you need calls and a Japanese number

Most travel eSIMs are data-only; your WhatsApp/iMessage work over data either way. But if you must receive Japanese calls or SMS (some services require a local number), two verified routes exist: Mobal's voice eSIMs — its Voice-Only eSIM includes "a real Japanese phone number" with free incoming calls and unlimited free incoming SMS (source) — and Sim Local's carrier plans with calls & texts, sold through its marketplace. Receiving SMS on your home number (2FA codes) keeps working on a dual-SIM phone regardless, as long as your home SIM stays installed and your eSIM is set to data-only.

Activation realities in Japan

When you should skip a Japan eSIM entirely

Japan trips under ~3 days with hotel/café Wi-Fi plans may not justify any purchase — that judgment is honestly trip-dependent, and our when-not-to-buy guide covers the decision. Also: China-mainland-bought iPhones historically lack eSIM (per Apple, only the newest mainland models — iPhone 18 Pro, 18 Pro Max, Duo, 17e, Air — support it), so check your exact model first (Apple Support).

JP

Buy through our links if a plan fits

Checked the table and the fine print? These links support RoamReady — same price for you, and our criteria don't change with payouts:

Airalo Japan → Sim Local Japan (KDDI au) → Saily Japan →

Affiliate links — we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Ubigi and Mobal, included above, have no financial relationship with RoamReady.

Related reading